15th Berger Young Painters' Art Competition Award Giving Ceremony


The 15th Berger Young Painters' Art Competition Award Giving Ceremony was held on December 5, 2010 at Dhaka Sheraton Winter Garden amidst much enthusiasm and excitement. The most esteemed award 'Berger Life Time Achievement' Award was also presented at the same event to eminent artist Mr. Syed Jahangir. Ms. Rupali Chowdhury, Managing Director of Berger Paints Bangladesh Limited graced the event and presented crests to the winners. In her speech, Ms. Chowdhury said, Berger takes part in various social activities as part of its commitment to the society. Berger Young Painters' Art Competition is just another vibrant example which is organized to bring out the hidden talents in young painters. Berger hopes that this recognition will inspire young talents to work harder and bring pride and glory for the nation.

The chairman of the jury committee Professor Qayyum Chowdhury was also present at the ceremony who handed over the prize money and certificates to the winners of the competition.

This year, Berger Young Painters' Art Competition received tremendous response from painters all around the country. Out of the 340 outstanding paintings, the respected jury members went through a tough time to select 6 most captivating paintings. The deserving winners of the event were: 1st winner Najmun Nahar (Keya), 2nd winner Sanjoy Bikash Das, 3rd Winner Md. Sohel Rana, 4th winner Anisuzzaman Mamun, 5th winner Md. Monaim Dharia and 6th winner Sagar Chakrabarty.

The ceremony began with a soulful recitation on the liberation war written by Mr. Kazi Arif and presented by Mr. Shamsul Rahman. Then a dance sequence by Sohel and his group enthralled the audience. The award program was followed by a wonderful musical performance by renowned singer Samina Chowdhury.

Berger Paints also held an exhibition of the 40 nominated paintings including the six winning paintings of the competition at the Zainul Gallery, Faculty of Fine Arts, Dhaka University from 9th December to 14th December 2010.

Designed & Developed by: